Head of Department

Professor Md. Abdul Quader

Department Overview

The department of Chemistry of renowned Carmichael College, Rangpur was started in 1922. Then, Chemistry was taught only in intermediate of Science (I.Sc.) and gallery in tally building was active for class. Then, the department was in tally building which was situated to the south-west of the college administrative building. B.Sc (pass) class was run in this department in 1925. B.Sc (honours) in Chemistry was started in 1963 during the government declaration the college. Late Abdul Haque Kahandaker was head of the department that time. Due to the number of students and academic activities increasing the department was shifted from tally building to the second floor of present amenities building furnished with all modern in 1985.This isolated building is situated to the south-east of the administrative building. There are six sufficient laboratories. M.Sc.in chemistry was started in 1994 and next M.Sc.part-1. Students can obtain B.Sc (hons.) and M.Sc degree from this department. Practical and thesis two branches are available here. Sometimes scientific conferences and seminars are arranged in the department. Abdur Rahman and Kalachand Roy of this department are the two who were martyred during liberation war 1971 of Bangladesh. In addition, Late Prof. Rafiqur Rahman Chowdhury (RRC) and Prof. Md. Nurun-Nabi Chowdhury (NNC) were two renowned teacher of the department. Prof. Md. Saiful Islam is now in the chair of the department. There are 12(Twelve) more experienced academic teachers including 3(Three) Ph.D holders and 5 (Five) staffs are working in this department. The department is self sufficient from any respect.

Md. Abdul Quader

Professor & Head

Rowshan Ara Begum


Dr. Md. Jahangir Alam

Associate Professor

Dr. Md. Saifur Rahman

Associate Professor

Nihar Ranjan Chakravarti

Associate Professor

Dr. Md. Rokunuzzaman Miah

Associate Professor

Md. Abdul Quddus Sarker

Assistant Professor

Md. Mahfuzul Islam

Assistant Professor

Samaresh Krishna Ray

Assistant Professor

Mohammad Badal Rahman


Shayla Akter


Md. Akhteruzzaman


Shapon Chandro Barmon


Present Teachers List

SL Teachre’s Name ID No. Degination Contact No. Date of joining
01. Md. Abdul Quader Professor 01712592634 ?
02. Rowshan Ara Begum 05521 Professor (Against Associate Professor) 01717138229 15/02/2015
03. Dr. Md. Jahangir Alam 07838 Associate Professor 01916829555 15/01/2015
04. Dr. Md. Saifur Rahman 005544 Associate Professor 01718523195 18/10/2017
05. Nihar Ranjan Chakravarti 012032 Associate Professor (Against Assistant Professor) 01718543257 08/04/2010
06. Dr. Md. Rokunuzzaman Miah 012630 Associate Professor (Attachment) 01718910723 23/10/2012
07. Md. Abdul Quddus Sarker 013512 Assistant Professor 01912319989 10/10/2012
08. Md. Mahfuzul Islam 018255 Assistant Professor 01746046412 12/11/2014
09. Samaresh Krishna Ray 022028 Assistant Professor (Against Lecturer) 01737055414 01/08/2014
10. Mohammad Badal Rahman 014450 Lecturer 01729517165 24/12/2016
11. Shayla Akter 025941 Lecturer 01793594951 06/09/2016
12. Md. Akhteruzzaman ? Lecturer 01767436971 ?
13. Shapon Chandro Barmon 023527 Lecturer 01717471207 05/01/2017
14. Demonstrator
15. Demonstrator

Essentil Menus and Links

Academic Activities

Academic Calendar
Academic Curriculum
Class Routine

Academic Classroom Contents

Contact Us


Department of Chemistry
Carmichael College, Rangpur



Call us

+88 0521 66689